Testimonials

Home / Testimonials

I was told that DR. Sekhon would always use surgery as a last result by my GP. He was right.

I was told that DR. Sekhon would always use surgery as a last result by my GP. He was right. He is very good about explaining why we are doing what we are doing and trying medication and PT, before surgery. I was very pleased. And if that day comes that he tells me I need surgery I can believe that it is the only option.

Pat and Gayle Farley

March 14, 2019

Simply put; Dr. Sekhon is probably one of the best neurosurgeons in Reno.

Simply put; Dr. Sekhon is probably one of the best neurosurgeons in Reno.

I have had neck pain with numbness for the past few years. I have tried countless injections, months of physical therapy, and various other modalities. Once I felt like I was about to cross the bridge and consider opiates to treat the pain, I started to go neurosurgeon shopping.

I saw a total of three neurosurgeons before deciding on Dr. Sekhon. The first two I saw didn’t really perform much of an assessment, barely listened, and frankly spoke to me like I was a “dumb” 25 year old. I am a paramedic, so I would like to assume that I am not as dumb as most of my generation.

My first visit with Dr. Sekhon and Curt was pretty simple and straight forward. They reviewed my MRI and my symptoms, and then something crazy happened. They actually performed a complete neuro-exam! They explained my options, they didn’t talk down to me.

I decided on surgery since it appeared that I exhausted all of my options. It was pretty apparent the level of professionalism and genuine kindness that Dr. Sekhon expects from everyone in his office. From scheduling my consult to scheduling surgery, everyone took the time to explain everything that was needed to be done, and answered all of my questions no matter how silly they were.

My pre-op appointment was the night before, and Curt went over every sentence in the consent paperwork as well as walking me through the initial 24 hours post surgery. I spent probably an hour with him.

The morning of surgery, I checked into RRMC and they did the usual “show up three hours before, and sit around on a bed waiting for us to complete 15 minutes worth of work to get you ready for surgery.”

Here’s the weirdest part though. When I went back to the OR, I didn’t have any pre-op sedation. I was somewhat nervous, considering it was spine surgery, and I was on the other side of things. Dr. Sekhon, Greg, the RN, and some random med student actually took the time and talked with me knowing full well how nervous I was. Once the anesthesiologist arrived I was pretty much out in 30 seconds with a tube down my throat.

I woke up in Recovery and it was pretty uneventful besides the nurse allowing me to make phone calls. The floor was pretty laid back too. Most patients get private rooms on Sierra 1, so you don’t have to worry about a roommate that smells of old feet.

Right now I am on Post Op day 4 and I am not on any pain medications and I probably will be going back to work in 11 days.

Although Dr. Sekhon has horrible taste in hockey, he is a pretty good neurosurgeon who actually takes the time and effort to actually listen.

Nathan M.
Spanish Springs, NV
3.9.2019

March 10, 2019

For thirteen years, I have been dealing with painful spinal issues. I met Dr.Sekhon, eight years ago, after the car I was in was rear-ended in an auto accident. Before that accident, I had undergone two previous spine surgeries.

For thirteen years, I have been dealing with painful spinal issues. I met Dr.Sekhon, eight years ago, after the car I was in was rear-ended in an auto accident. Before that accident, I had undergone two previous spine surgeries.

Unfortunately during the last portion of 2018, painful spinal issues returned. I returned to Dr.Sekhon for an examination, and got a new diagnosis. Surgery was scheduled to repair the new spinal damage. It has been a pleasure to renew my former relationship with Dr.Sekhon, and meet his staff; all whom are very professional and are dedicated to the highest level of patient care, their main goal. The practice makes a patient feel truly cared about and cared for as a welcome guest.

Dr.Sekhon is a very experienced surgeon with a truly remarkable background. I instinctively knew I could completely trust and rely on his diagnosis, with confidence and the secure knowledge that the new surgery would be a total success; and it was. This wonderful doctor has a great bedside manner that aided in the healing process.

Until a person experiences spinal injures and surgery, the value of having a doctor and his staff, who are so knowledgeable, professional, dedicated and caring, cannot be understood or explained. Dr. Sekhon is a rock; he and his staff helped me get through a very tough situation. Doctor, I’ve been blessed to be in your very capable hands, thank you!

.

Philip H.

Reno, NV

February 24, 2019

Dr. Sekhon has performed

Dr. Sekhon has performed 3 surgeries for me. C3-c4 fusion, L4 L5 laminectomy and a pain stimulator for low back pain.(13 years of Pain, is gone.) Best Neurosurgeon in Nevada. Top 10 in the United States. I’ll never have any other Neurosurgeon!!

Larry Ewart
February 22, 2019

His staff is also the BEST!

After suffering for many years with lower back pain that got steadily worse I finally decided I needed to get my life back. I met with Dr. Sekhon and his staff and was diagnosed with problems in the lumbar area that required surgery for repair. I am now 6 weeks post op and reveling in being pain-free. I am looking forward to a summer of activities that I haven’t been able to enjoy for about 10 years. In my opinion Dr. Sekhon is the best neurosurgeon in the country!!! His staff is also the BEST!

Thurma Livingston

February 6, 2019

I underwent microdiscectomy surgery for a badly protruding disc. …

I ended underwent microdiscectomy surgery for a badly protruding disc. The surgery was completed in a little over an hour and I walked out of the hospital shortly thereafter. I am not one for hyperbole, but Dr. Sekhon, Greg Graves and the rest of the team at Nevada Neurosurgery have given me my life back. I am incredibly grateful and could not recommend them more highly. Kevin.

January 9, 2019

 Two years ago, I had my back worked on with Dr. Sekhon…

Two years ago, I had my back worked on with Dr. Sekhon. What a difference, I can do yard work and other things I couldn’t, without the help from Dr Sekhon, I would be sitting down all day not being able to live life. He is the best. everyone that had him operate on them have never had any issues. I couldn’t even get up to get a glass of water before I had my back cleaned out, no hardware. I cant say enough about him and his staff.

Terry hansen Villines in Greenville, CA Jan 7, 2019

I fracture 4 vertebras and displaced 1 of them.

I fracture 4 vertebras and displaced 1 of them. I am now recovered up walking around and truly feel Dr. Sekhon saved my life. I am beyond grateful for his skillful hand and would highly recommend him to anyone that needs any service he can provide. Jared Hackler

December 5, 2018

Dr. Sekhon and his staff are amazing

Dr. Sekhon and his staff are amazing. I had a s-4 s-5 laminectomy and discectomy. Who knew one of the United States top spine surgeons practiced in Reno? After spending almost a month in agony after re-injuring my back I’m now pain-free. Doctor Sekhon was very professional and showing me on my MRI what exactly my problem was and explaining how it could be fixed very simply. Even a non-professional like myself could understand what was going on on the MRI. After all this he asked if I had any questions I asked him how many times he’d done this surgery his answer was about 5000! I couldn’t think of any good questions after that… Have to comment about his anesthesiologist too on the day of surgery he came by to see me in pre-op. He clearly saw I was a little nervous about getting back surgery I mean who wouldn’t be? He said he would give me something to relax me he put something in my IV and the next thing I know I was waking up in post-op with the nurse saying it was all over! That’s how it should be done so you don’t have time to worry about stuff! Well done doc. Post-op instructions and visits were very well planned and clear instructions. If you have spine issues this is where you want to be. I went back to the VA after surgery and spoke to the patient advocate about my good experience and recommended that they send more people to Dr Sekhon. Submitted December 4, 2018 https://www.ratemds.com/doctors/2063718/dashboard/ratings/

This very knowledgeable Doctor and his team are truly awesome

This very knowledgeable Doctor and his team are truly awesome; others’ comments below concerning the same are highly accurate. About 5 years ago had two collapsed disks in my neck (old series of injuries) aggravated by a last-straw fall. Left arm and shoulder pain were untouchable by heavy meds or physical therapy. Lali believes in being informative, very conservative and non-invasive; surgery being only as a last resort. In my case, there was not an option and needed it done as soon as scheduling permitted. 2nd day after the surgery my wife felt the need to yell at me because I was not following post-op orders; I felt no pain. 5+ years in and still doing great. The metal plate/screws in my neck do not even set off the TSA metal scanners. Bonus round 🙂 If I ever have need to be back in a doctors’ and his terrific teams’ care for anything having to do with nero/spine, my big hope is that Lali is still here in Reno, and continuing to practice. To Lali: Thank you for deciding to take up medicine. Reno is very lucky to have you!
 
Submitted November 28, 2018
November 29, 2018